In Memory of Claude A. Simard (1943-2014)

« Long before we can write, we make up images that tell our stories, half truth, half invention. As children do, we tell about people we love, places where we live and we travel to. Moments of joy and moments of sorrow. We tell about hope and expectations. Life! So fragile. So short. »
– Claude A. Simard

***

Born July 9, 1943, in Québec City, Claude Alphonse Simard was a painter known for his colourful representation of garden scenes, landscapes, still lifes and the human figure.

After his classical studies at Petit Séminaire de Québec and Académie de Québec, he graduated in 1966 from Toronto’s Ontario College of Art in visual communications. “I received instructions from masters such as Franklin Arbuckle, Alan Colier and Gray Mills. They helped us look at subject matter and feel the emotion it brought. They demanded honesty and passion in the most simple of sketches,” wrote Simard in Inspiration, a book describing his creative process.

After apprenticing with the design group at the British Motor Corporation in Birmingham, England, Simard began his career in 1966, when he was hired as head of advertising and store design by Maison Simons, a Québec City fashion retailer. He worked there until 1973 and developed the Simons brand image, as it is known today across Québec and Canada.

That same year, he founded Groupe Communikart, a graphic design firm that he would direct until 1984. During that time he won several prizes, including two in Milan for logos designed for Mobilier International (1973) and Scierie des Outardes (1977).

As a founding member of the Quebec Graphic Designers Society, created in 1974, he wrote the code of ethics governing the practice of Society members.

In 1981 Simard was received by the Royal Canadian Academy of Arts.He went on to teach at Laval University’s School of Visual Arts from 1982 to 2002. Simard also served as Vice-Dean of the Faculty of Planning, Architecture, Art and Design in 1988–89.

In addition to his activities in graphic design, business and teaching, Simard had always painted, creating a substantial legacy of works.

His paintings were shown in numerous solo exhibits, including a retrospective at Musée du Québec in 1975. In 1991, he was asked to participate in an exhibit showcasing Québec painters in Paris at Château de Bagatelle. His work can also be found in galleries across Canada, including the Masters Gallery in Calgary, the West End Gallery in Edmonton and Victoria, the Roberts Gallery in Toronto, Galerie Alan Klinkhoff in Montréal, Galerie Perreault in Québec City, Galerie L’Harmattan in Baie-St-Paul and Galerie Richard Hevey in Ste-Adele.

Simard’s body of work includes five historical murals completed in 1982 and 1983 for Parks Canada as part of the integrated interpretation concept at Fort-Chambly, Québec. He designed eight stamps for Canada Post, including two Christmas stamps (1983 and 1987) and one commemorative stamp, Blue Poppy, issued in 1997.

Simard published several books on his two passions, painting and gardening, including his most recent, Inspiration, which he dedicated to his four grandchildren, “so that they might remember all the pleasure we have had together, at this old easel, a faithful companion to our many loves.”

Claude A. Simard was not only a painter and a gardener, he was a great admirer of his family. His loving wife Huguette, his daughters Roseline and Rose-Mélanie, his son-in-law Dominic and his grandchildren Emma, Clara-Ève, Charlotte and Thomas-Claude were his day-to-day inspiration. That is why “even more so than beauty, Claude A. Simard succeeded in painting joy and delight.”

En souvenir de Claude A. Simard (1943-2014)

« Nous dessinons avant de savoir écrire. Dans les images que nous faisons, nous créons des histoires à nous, à moitié vérité, à moitié fantaisie. Comme font les petits, nous parlons du paysage, des amis, des amours. Nous racontons ce que nous sommes et ceux que nous aimons, l’espace d’être, la joie, le grand chagrin. Nous racontons l’espoir, l’attente, le désir. La vie, si douce et si fragile. »
– Claude A. Simard

***

Né le 9 juillet 1943 à Québec, Claude Alphonse Simard était un peintre reconnu pour ses toiles colorées représentant des scènes de jardins floraux, des paysages, des natures mortes et des personnages.

Après des études classiques au Petit Séminaire de Québec et à l’Académie de Québec, il obtient en 1966 un diplôme en communication visuelle de l’Ontario College of Art de Toronto. « J’ai étudié sous des maîtres comme Franklin Arbuckle, Alan Colier et Gray Mills. Ils m’ont donné le goût de faire, le goût de regarder, de dire, de me perdre dans un dessin avec la sincérité de la passion », mentionne Claude A. Simard dans son livre Inspiration.

Suivant un stage avec le groupe de design de la British Motors Corporation à Birmingham, en Angleterre, Claude A. Simard entreprend sa carrière en 1966, alors qu’il est embauché à la Maison Simons, à Québec, à titre de directeur de la publicité et de l’aménagement. Il y œuvre jusqu’en 1973 et y développe l’image de marque de l’entreprise, telle qu’on la connaît aujourd’hui.

La même année, il fonde le Groupe Communikart, un cabinet de graphisme qu’il dirigera jusqu’en 1984. Il remporte alors plusieurs prix, dont deux prix à Milan pour des logos conçus pour Mobilier International (1973) et la Scierie des Outardes (1977).

Membre fondateur de la Société des graphistes du Québec, créée en 1974 et devenue depuis la Société des designers graphiques du Québec, il est l’auteur d’un code de déontologie destiné à encadrer les pratiques professionnelles des membres.

Reçu en 1981 à l’Académie royale des Arts du Canada, Claude A. Simard enseigne à l’École des arts visuels de l’Université Laval de 1982 à 2002. Il est de plus vice-doyen de la Faculté d’aménagement, d’architecture, d’art et de design en 1988-1989.

En parallèle à ses activités de concepteur graphique, d’entrepreneur et d’enseignant, Claude A. Simard s’adonne à la peinture et crée un important corpus d’œuvres.

Ses tableaux ont été présentés dans de nombreuses expositions solo, dont une rétrospective au Musée du Québec en 1975. En 1991, il est invité à participer à une exposition mettant en valeur les peintres québécois et présentée à l’Orangerie du château de Bagatelle, à Paris. On retrouve également ses œuvres dans diverses galeries du Canada, dont la galerie Perreault à Québec, la galerie L’Harmattan à Baie-St-Paul, la galerie Richard Hevey à Ste-Adele, la galerie Roberts à Toronto, la galerie Alan Klinkhoff à Montréal, la galerie West End à Edmonton et à Victoria et la galerie Masters à Calgary, ainsi que dans plusieurs collections privées.

Il compte parmi ses réalisations cinq murales historiques exécutées en 1982 et en 1983 pour Parcs Canada dans le cadre du concept d’interprétation intégré à Fort-Chambly. Il est également le concepteur de huit timbres-poste émis par la Société canadienne des postes, dont deux timbres de Noël (1983 et 1987) et un timbre commémoratif, Québec en fleurs, émis en 1997.

Il a publié plusieurs ouvrages consacrés à ses deux passions, la peinture et le jardinage, dont son plus récent livre, Inspiration, qu’il dédie à ses quatre petits-enfants « pour qu’ils gardent en mémoire tout ce plaisir que nous avons ensemble, à ce vieux chevalet, compagnon fidèle de nos amours ».

Claude A. Simard était non seulement un peintre et un jardinier, mais également un grand admirateur de sa famille. Son épouse Huguette, ses filles Roseline et Rose-Mélanie, son gendre Dominic et ses petits-enfants, Emma, Clara-Eve, Charlotte et Thomas-Claude, lui ont servi d’inspiration tout au long de sa vie.

***

« Plus essentiel que la beauté, Claude A. Simard aura su peindre le bonheur. »

– Jacques de Guise, sociologue, professeur à la retraite et ami